Contains affiliate links. Solar Examiner may earn a commission if you buy through links marked “Check price.” Commissions do not affect which products we pick. See our affiliate disclosure and how we pick products.
Buy the Tesla Powerwall 3 if you want the most continuous power from one unit, the FranklinWH aPower 2 if you want the biggest single battery with a 15-year warranty, and an Enphase IQ Battery if you want to add capacity in small steps or already run Enphase microinverters. These are our reading of manufacturer documents and published analyses as of October 24, 2026. We did not test any of them. See how we pick products.
Side-by-side
| Spec | Powerwall 3 | FranklinWH aPower 2 | Enphase IQ Battery 10C | Enphase IQ Battery 5P |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 13.5 kWh (nominal) | 15 kWh | 10 kWh | 5.0 kWh (usable) |
| Continuous power | 11.5 kW | 10 kW | 7.08 kW | 3.84 kW |
| Peak power | Starts loads to 185 LRA (no kW peak stated) | Not stated; says it can start a 5-ton A/C | Not stated | 7.68 kW (3 s), 6.14 kW (10 s) |
| Warranty | 10 years | 15 years, 60 MWh | 15 years, 6,000 cycles | 15 years, 6,000 cycles |
| Operating temp. | -4°F to 122°F | -4°F to 131°F | Not stated on page | Not stated on page |
| Solar input | Integrated inverter, up to 20 kW STC | See installer | AC-coupled (per third party) | AC-coupled |
| Stacking | Multiple units | Up to 15 per aGate (225 kWh) | Modular | Modular |
| Approx. $/kWh (EnergySage, Apr 2026) | $998 | $1,177 | $1,404 | not listed |
Sources: Tesla datasheet, FranklinWH, Enphase 10C, Enphase 5P, EnergySage (updated Apr 29, 2026). A third-party comparison by NuWatt Energy describes the 10C as AC-coupled; we did not confirm that on Enphase’s page. “Not stated” means the manufacturer page we read did not state it, not that the product lacks it.
Which should you buy?
If you want the most power from one box: Powerwall 3
Its 11.5 kW continuous discharge is the highest here, and the datasheet lists UL 1741, UL 9540, UL 9540A and UL 1973. Tesla’s page says the unit includes an integrated solar inverter, and the datasheet lists up to 20 kW of PV input. In a new solar-plus-storage install that can mean fewer boxes. The trade-off is the 10-year warranty, five years shorter than the other two.
If you want capacity and a long warranty: aPower 2
FranklinWH lists 15 kWh, 10 kW continuous, 15 years or 60 MWh, and IP67 protection. Its stacking limit of 15 units per aGate gives a ceiling of 225 kWh. The product page we read did not state a UL listing; ask for the document for the exact model.
If you want modular steps or already have Enphase: IQ Battery
The 5P adds 5.0 kWh and 3.84 kW per unit; the 10C adds 10 kWh and 7.08 kW. Both carry a 15-year warranty up to 6,000 cycles. The 5P requires an IQ System Controller 3 or 3G for backup and Enphase-certified commissioning. Per kWh, EnergySage lists the 10C at the highest price of the batteries in its table, so compare full quotes, not spec sheets.
Price check
EnergySage’s per-kWh figures (Apr 2026) are $998 for Powerwall 3, $1,177 for aPower 2 and $1,404 for IQ Battery 10C. Solar.com’s September 2026 installer price lists show medians of about $15,000 (Powerwall 3), $17,250 (aPower 2) and $14,250 (IQ Battery 10C) installed with solar, before incentives. These are marketplace medians and per-kWh averages, not quotes, and the 10C is smaller, so a lower total can still mean a higher price per kWh. Prices checked October 24, 2026.
Worked example (our math): $998 per kWh × 13.5 kWh = $13,473 for a Powerwall 3 at EnergySage’s per-kWh figure; $1,404 × 10 kWh = $14,040 for one 10C. The 10C costs more in total for 3.5 kWh less capacity at those figures.
Who should skip all three
- Homes with rare short outages and no time-of-use rate; a battery rarely pays back on bill savings alone.
- Buyers who need weeks of backup; solar recharge or a generator matters more than battery brand.
- Anyone counting on a federal credit; see below.
Incentives
The IRS says the residential clean energy credit is not available for property placed in service after December 31, 2025. State, local and utility programs vary; check Rates by State and your utility. Leased or financed arrangements can be taxed differently; ask the provider for the written basis.
How to decide
- Decide required kW (loads at once) and kWh (hours). See how to size a home battery.
- If you already have Enphase microinverters, price an IQ Battery first; otherwise price all three.
- Ask each installer for model numbers, warranty documents and UL certification for the exact unit.
- Compare total installed price, not price per kWh alone.
- Read the time-of-use guide if your utility has peak pricing.
Limitations
Specs are manufacturer-stated and sometimes nominal rather than usable. We found no independent owner-satisfaction data for these batteries; the Solar.com review analysis rates installers, not products. This is not tax or engineering advice.
Sources
- Tesla Powerwall 3 datasheet · FranklinWH aPower 2 · Enphase IQ Battery 10C · Enphase IQ Battery 5P (all accessed Oct 24, 2026)
- EnergySage (Apr 29, 2026) · Solar.com (Oct 1, 2026) · IRS
- NuWatt Energy (secondary)
Related: Best home batteries for backup power · Enphase IQ8 review
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Powerwall 3, Enphase IQ Battery or FranklinWH aPower 2?
It depends on what you need. The Powerwall 3 has the highest continuous output (11.5 kW). The aPower 2 has the largest single-unit capacity (15 kWh) and a 15-year warranty. Enphase IQ Batteries add capacity in smaller steps and suit homes with Enphase microinverters.
Do I need Enphase solar to use an Enphase battery?
Not necessarily. Enphase has announced IQ Battery 10C support for existing third-party solar systems, but check compatibility and installer certification requirements for your exact setup.
Which battery has the longest warranty?
FranklinWH aPower 2 (15 years, 60 MWh throughput) and Enphase IQ Batteries (15 years, up to 6,000 cycles) both list 15 years. The Powerwall 3 lists 10 years.
Are these batteries eligible for the federal tax credit?
The IRS says the residential clean energy credit does not apply to property placed in service after December 31, 2025. State and utility programs may still apply; confirm with a tax professional.
