Equipment

Best Level 2 EV Chargers for Home Use in 2026

For most homes the ChargePoint Home Flex, Tesla Wall Connector, Wallbox Pulsar Plus, Emporia Pro and Grizzl-E Classic cover the field. We compare amperage, plug options, warranty and stated certifications, and what each costs to run.

A white electric car charger mounted on a wooden wall.
Photo by dcbel on Unsplash

Contains affiliate links. Solar Examiner may earn a commission if you buy through links marked “Check price.” Commissions do not affect which products we pick. See our affiliate disclosure and how we pick products.

The best Level 2 home charger is the one that matches your car’s AC charging rate and your panel’s spare capacity. For most households the ChargePoint Home Flex is the most flexible pick, the Tesla Wall Connector suits Tesla-first homes, and the Emporia Pro and Grizzl-E Classic are lower-cost options. Details below come from manufacturer pages read on October 24, 2026. We did not test these chargers. See how we pick products.

Quick picks

Best forChargerMax amps / powerInstallStated warrantyPrice (checked Oct 24, 2026)
FlexibilityChargePoint Home FlexUp to 50 A hardwired; 40 A plug-inHardwired, NEMA 6-50 or 14-50 plug3 yearsNot stated on page
Tesla-first homesTesla Wall ConnectorUp to 48 A / 11.5 kWSee Tesla48 months residentialNot stated on page
Compact, high powerWallbox Pulsar Plus40 A or 48 A, up to 11.5 kW40 A model: NEMA 14-50 plugNot stated on pageFrom $649.99
Smart-energy valueEmporia ProUp to 48 ANEMA plug or hardwire3 years$599
BudgetGrizzl-E Classic 40A40 APlug-inNot stated on page$299.99

Sources: ChargePoint, Tesla, Wallbox, Emporia, Grizzl-E. “Not stated on page” means we did not find it on the manufacturer page we read.

Estimate charge time, cost per charge and breaker size with our EV charger calculator.

How fast is Level 2?

Power (kW) = volts × amps ÷ 1,000.

  • 240 V × 48 A = 11,520 W = 11.5 kW
  • 240 V × 40 A = 9,600 W = 9.6 kW

Charging time (our illustration): adding 60 kWh at 9.6 kW takes 60 ÷ 9.6 = 6.25 hours, if your car accepts that rate. Many cars accept less on AC, so the car, not the charger, may set the limit.

ChargePoint says its plug-in 40 A Home Flex models add about 30 miles of range per hour and the hardwired 50 A model up to 37.

Breaker sizing. The DOE’s Alternative Fuels Data Center notes the National Electrical Code treats EV charging as a continuous load. In practice that commonly means the breaker is rated for 125% of the charger’s amps: 48 A needs 60 A; 40 A needs 50 A. Our math: 48 × 1.25 = 60; 40 × 1.25 = 50. Have a licensed electrician check your panel, since an older panel may need an upgrade.

Product cards

ChargePoint Home Flex — best for flexibility

ChargePoint says the hardwired model delivers up to 50 A on circuits rated 20 to 80 A, while NEMA 6-50 and 14-50 plug versions deliver up to 40 A. Both J1772 and NACS connectors are offered. The page states it is UL listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with a 3-year warranty and an app for home and public charging.

Pros: adjustable current for different circuits; stated UL listing and ENERGY STAR; hardwire or plug options. Cons: price not shown on the page we read; shortest-looking warranty of the group at 3 years (Tesla’s is 4).

Check price

Tesla Wall Connector — best for Tesla-first homes

Tesla says the Wall Connector provides up to 11.5 kW / 48 A. Its warranty is 48 months for normal residential use. Tesla tells buyers to make sure the plug matches the vehicle’s inlet. The page we read did not state cable length, install options, UL listing or price.

Pros: up to 11.5 kW; 4-year residential warranty. Cons: several specs not stated on the page we read; confirm connector type for non-Tesla vehicles.

Check price

Wallbox Pulsar Plus — best compact option

Wallbox lists 40 A or 48 A, up to 11.5 kW, a 25-foot cable, J1772 or NACS connectors, and a price starting at $649.99. The 40 A model offers NEMA 14-50 plug installation. The page did not state warranty, certifications or whether the 48 A model plugs in.

Pros: high power in a compact unit; 25-foot cable. Cons: highest listed starting price here; warranty and certifications not stated on the page we read.

Check price

Emporia Pro — best for smart-energy value

Emporia lists $599, up to 48 A, a NEMA plug or hardwire, a 25-foot cable and a 3-year warranty. The page did not confirm UL or ENERGY STAR for the Pro; those details appear only in the Classic’s FAQ.

Pros: price; both plug and hardwire options; 25-foot cable. Cons: certification not confirmed for this model on the page; verify before buying.

Check price

Grizzl-E Classic 40A — best budget plug-in

Grizzl-E lists the Classic 40A at $299.99 (plug-in) and the Classic Connect 40A at $349.99. The page says “Certified for Safety & Performance” without naming a body, and does not list warranty, cable length or kW.

Pros: lowest price here; plug-in. Cons: limited stated specs; confirm UL listing and warranty before purchase.

Check price

What does it cost to run?

DOE’s Alternative Fuels Data Center example uses 10.7¢ per kWh and 27 kWh per 100 miles, about $0.03 a mile, and about $6 to fill a depleted 54 kWh battery. Your rate differs. EIA’s September 2026 outlook put the 2026 average US residential price at 18.2¢ per kWh (see our summary), and rates vary by state and utility. Our math at 18.2¢: 54 kWh × $0.182 = $9.83. Check your own rate in Rates by State or on your bill, and see time-of-use rates if charging overnight is cheaper for you.

Who should skip a Level 2 charger

  • Drivers who cover short daily distances may be fine on Level 1. DOE says overnight Level 1 meets many owners’ needs when a dedicated circuit outlet is near the parking spot.
  • Renters; see best EV chargers for renters and apartments.
  • Homes with a full panel and no budget for an upgrade.

Incentives

The IRS lists the 30C credit at 30% up to $1,000 per item for individuals, in eligible census tracts, for property placed in service through June 30, 2026. It does not cover a charger placed in service after that. Utility and state rebates vary; check your utility.

Buying checklist

  1. Your car’s maximum AC charge rate and connector (J1772 or NACS).
  2. Spare panel capacity and breaker size; electrician quote.
  3. Indoor or outdoor install; outdoor-rated equipment for outdoors.
  4. Plug-in or hardwired; see hardwired vs plug-in chargers.
  5. Stated UL listing for the exact model.
  6. Warranty length and who services it.
  7. Utility rate plan and rebates.
  8. Permit requirements; AFDC notes permits may be required.

Limitations

Specs are manufacturer-stated. Prices are as shown on manufacturer sites October 24, 2026 and change. We found no large independent owner-review dataset we could cite for these chargers. This is not electrical or tax advice.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

What is the best Level 2 EV charger for home use?

For flexibility, the ChargePoint Home Flex (hardwired up to 50 A or plug-in 40 A, UL listed and ENERGY STAR certified per ChargePoint). For Tesla-first homes, the Tesla Wall Connector (up to 11.5 kW). For value, the Emporia Pro or Grizzl-E Classic.

How fast does a Level 2 charger charge an EV?

ChargePoint says its 40-amp plug-in Home Flex adds about 30 miles of range per hour and its 50-amp hardwired model about 37. Real speed depends on your car's maximum AC charge rate.

What size breaker do I need for a 48-amp charger?

EV charging is treated as a continuous load under the National Electrical Code, which commonly means a breaker rated for 125% of the charger's amperage, so 60 amps for a 48-amp charger. A licensed electrician must confirm for your home.

Is there a tax credit for a home EV charger?

The IRS lists the 30C credit (30%, up to $1,000 per item for individuals) for property placed in service through June 30, 2026, in eligible census tracts. It does not cover chargers placed in service after that date. State and utility rebates may still apply.