# Best EV Chargers for Renters and Apartments: Plug-In and Portable Options

> Renters usually can't hardwire a charger. A portable Level 2 cordset on a 240-volt outlet is the fastest option, and Level 1 may be enough for short commutes. Here is how the main plug-in options compare and what to ask your landlord.

- URL: https://solarexaminer.com/posts/best-ev-chargers-for-renters-and-apartments/
- Site: Solar Examiner (https://solarexaminer.com/)
- Category: Equipment
- Published: 2026-10-24
- Last verified: 2026-10-24
- Author: Craig Leslie

## Key takeaways

- A portable or plug-in Level 2 charger needs a 240-volt outlet. Tesla's Mobile Connector on a NEMA 14-50 outlet is listed at 27 to 30 miles of range per hour for its Model 3 and Model Y, versus 5 to 6 on a standard 120-volt outlet.
- DOE says overnight Level 1 charging meets many owners' daily needs when a dedicated-circuit outlet is near the parking spot.
- Get written landlord permission before using or adding any outlet. Multifamily charging, per DOE, may be more like public charging than single-family charging.
- Picks are based on manufacturer specs and stated terms. We did not test these chargers.



> **Contains affiliate links.** Solar Examiner may earn a commission if you buy through links marked "Check price." Commissions do not affect which products we pick. See our [affiliate disclosure](/affiliate-disclosure/) and [how we pick products](/how-we-pick/).

If you rent, the practical choice is between **Level 1 on a standard outlet**, a **portable Level 2 cordset** on a 240-volt outlet such as NEMA 14-50, or a **plug-in wall unit** you can take with you. The first two need no installation; the third needs an outlet. Specs below are from manufacturer pages and DOE material read on October 24, 2026. We did not test these chargers. See [how we pick products](/how-we-pick/).

## Quick picks

| Best for | Option | What it needs | Rate (stated) | Price (checked Oct 24, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla and NACS vehicles, ready to travel | Tesla Mobile Connector | 120 V or 240 V outlets via included adapters | 5–6 mi/h on 120 V; 27–30 mi/h on NEMA 14-50 (Model 3, Y, S) | Not stated on page |
| Wall-mounted but portable | ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 or 6-50 model) | 240 V outlet, 40 A | About 30 mi/h | Not stated on page |
| Value plug-in | Grizzl-E Classic 40A | Plug-in, 240 V | Not stated | $299.99 |
| Plug-in with hardwire option | Emporia Pro | NEMA plug or hardwire | Up to 48 A | $599 |
| No outlet at all | Level 1 cordset that came with the car | 120 V outlet | 5–6 mi/h (Tesla, per its page) | Included with vehicle |

Sources: [Tesla Mobile Connector](https://www.tesla.com/support/charging/mobile-connector), [ChargePoint](https://www.chargepoint.com/drivers/home/), [Grizzl-E](https://www.grizzl-e.com/), [Emporia](https://www.emporiaenergy.com/ev-chargers/), [DOE AFDC](https://afdc.energy.gov/fuels/electricity-charging-home).

## Best for: pick by situation

### You have only a standard outlet: use Level 1
DOE says charging overnight with Level 1 meets the daily needs of many owners if there is an outlet on a dedicated branch circuit near the parking spot. Tesla lists 4 to 6 miles per hour on a 120 V outlet depending on model. Math: 10 hours × 5 mi/h = about 50 miles of range overnight, which covers many commutes but not heavy driving.

### You have a dryer or RV-style 240 V outlet nearby: portable Level 2
The Tesla Mobile Connector is 20 feet long and includes NEMA 5-15 and NEMA 14-50 adapters. On a 14-50 outlet at up to 32 A, Tesla lists 30 miles per hour for the Model 3, 27 for the Model S and Y, and 23 for the Model X. Optional adapters for other outlets (for example NEMA 6-20 at 15 mi/h for Model 3) are sold separately. Our math: 8 hours × 27 mi/h = about 216 miles of range overnight on a 14-50 for a Model Y, if the circuit and outlet are in good condition.

### You want a wall unit you can take with you: plug-in Level 2
ChargePoint's Home Flex NEMA 6-50 and 14-50 versions deliver up to 40 A and are listed at about 30 miles per hour. Per ChargePoint, the page states UL listing, ENERGY STAR certification and a 3-year warranty. The Grizzl-E Classic 40A ($299.99, plug-in) is a lower-cost choice, but the page we read did not name the certifying body, warranty or cable length. The Emporia Pro ($599) lists a NEMA plug or hardwire option, 25 ft cable and a 3-year warranty; certifications are not confirmed for the Pro on its page.

<a href="#affiliate-link-pending" rel="sponsored nofollow">Check Tesla Mobile Connector price</a> · <a href="#affiliate-link-pending" rel="sponsored nofollow">Check ChargePoint price</a> · <a href="#affiliate-link-pending" rel="sponsored nofollow">Check Grizzl-E price</a> · <a href="#affiliate-link-pending" rel="sponsored nofollow">Check Emporia price</a>

## Pros and cons

| Option | Pros | Cons |
|---|---|---|
| Level 1 cordset | No purchase; no installation | Slow: 5–6 mi/h (Tesla figures) |
| Portable Level 2 on 14-50 | Fast; travels with you | Needs a 240 V outlet; outlet condition matters |
| Plug-in wall unit | Neat; can be re-mounted | Needs landlord approval to mount; outlet still needed |

## What to ask your landlord or HOA

1. May I use the existing outlet at my space? Is it on a dedicated circuit?
2. Who pays for the electricity if the outlet is on a shared meter?
3. May a licensed electrician add a 240 V outlet, and who pays?
4. Is there a building charging program or a planned shared charger?

Get answers in writing. Rules differ by state, city and building, and we have not verified tenant-charging rules state by state, so check yours.

## Safety notes

Use only the outlets and adapters the manufacturer specifies. Avoid extension cords unless the manufacturer says a particular cord is acceptable. EV charging is a continuous load under the National Electrical Code, per [DOE](https://afdc.energy.gov/fuels/electricity-charging-home), so the circuit and outlet must be sound. Have a licensed electrician inspect any outlet you plan to use at 240 V.

## Who should skip a home charger

- If you can charge at work or at a public charger regularly, a home unit may be unnecessary.
- If the only available outlet is shared or not on a dedicated circuit, ask first.
- If you move often, favor portable options.

## Incentives

The IRS lists the 30C charger credit (30% up to $1,000 per item for individuals) for property placed in service through June 30, 2026, for property at your main home in eligible census tracts. It does not cover equipment placed in service after that date. State and utility rebates may apply; see [Rates by State](/rates-by-state/) and check your utility. Confirm eligibility with a tax professional.

## Buying checklist

1. Outlet type and amperage at your parking space (120 V or 240 V).
2. Your car's connector (J1772 or NACS) and AC charge rate.
3. Landlord or HOA approval in writing.
4. Cable length to reach your parking space safely.
5. Stated UL listing for the exact model.
6. Electricity rate and metering; see [how to read your electric bill](/posts/how-to-read-your-electric-bill/).
7. Compare with [Level 2 chargers for home](/posts/best-level-2-ev-chargers-for-home/) if you may buy a house later.

## Limitations

Charge rates are manufacturer-stated and depend on your vehicle. Prices are as shown October 24, 2026. We found no large independent owner-review dataset we could cite. This is not electrical or legal advice.

## Sources

- [Tesla Mobile Connector](https://www.tesla.com/support/charging/mobile-connector) · [ChargePoint](https://www.chargepoint.com/drivers/home/) · [Grizzl-E](https://www.grizzl-e.com/) · [Emporia](https://www.emporiaenergy.com/ev-chargers/)
- [DOE AFDC, Charging at home](https://afdc.energy.gov/fuels/electricity-charging-home)
- [IRS, 30C credit](https://www.irs.gov/credits-deductions/alternative-fuel-vehicle-refueling-property-credit)

## Frequently asked questions

### Can renters install an EV charger?

Often only with the landlord's written permission, and usually without permanent changes. A plug-in charger on an existing 240-volt outlet avoids installation, but an electrician may still be needed to confirm the outlet and circuit are suitable.

### What is the best EV charger for an apartment?

If you have access to a 240-volt outlet near your parking spot, a plug-in or portable Level 2 charger is fastest. If you only have a 120-volt outlet, Level 1 charging may suffice for short daily driving. If neither is available, workplace or public charging may be the realistic answer.

### Is Level 1 charging enough?

For some drivers. DOE says charging overnight on Level 1 meets daily needs for many owners if there is an outlet on a dedicated branch circuit near the parking space. Tesla lists 5 to 6 miles of range per hour on a 120-volt outlet for its Model 3, Y and S.

### Can I take a plug-in charger with me when I move?

Yes, that is the main advantage of a plug-in or portable unit, as long as your next home has a compatible outlet. Wall-mounted plug-in models need re-mounting.


Image credit: Photo by Precious Madubuike on [Unsplash](https://unsplash.com/photos/electric-car-charging-on-city-street-N2Td7KpIvYc?utm_source=solarexaminer&utm_medium=referral)
